The Rebel Set

The Rebel Set | Modern Living |
The Rebel Set | Modern Living |

Phoenix quartet The Rebel Set have returned with 12 fried crispy, psych/garage rock tunes on their brand new album Modern Living. Modern Living was recorded by the garage rock master Matt Rendon at Midtown Island in Tucson and a top secret “pandemic hideaway”. This album is a blast from start to finish, pogoing all the way through its 34 minute run time. The band claims “The soundtrack to your summer has arrived” and I agree.

Check out “Going Out In Style” for a taste below. Modern Living is out on Friday (May 28) via Outro Records and is available on vinyl (if your fast) and digitally via The Rebel Set’s Bandcamp page. Enjoy.


Wineteeth | Soft Bangers |
Wineteeth | Soft Bangers |

I am here today to introduce you to Harrisonburg, VA’s Wineteeth and premier their newest single “Haunted Boy” from their upcoming cassette release Soft Bangers.

“Haunted Boy” is the second single from Soft Bangers. It’s a chugging guitar and bass driven tune that bounces around in your skull for its short 2:08 duration. It reminds me of the band Pretty Girls Make Graves a bit. You need to check out the stream of it below.

Soft Bangers is a killer album, full of melodic, punk rock goodness. There is nothing soft about this album. The cassette release will be dropping soon via Funny / Not Funny Records. I highly recommend it.

Fake Fruit

Fake Fruit | Fake Fruit|
Fake Fruit | Fake Fruit|

San Francisco’s Fake Fruit is the newest addition to the already stellar Rocks In Your Head roster and they fit like a glove. Their just released, self-titled album is 30+ minutes of high-end lo-fi, post-punk goodness packed with pounding drums, chugging bass lines and piercing guitars. It’s solid stuff.

Check out “Old Skin”, “Stroke My Ego” and “Milkman” below for a sample.

Fake Fruit is out now and available digitally and on vinyl via Rocks In Your Head. Enjoy.


Backhand | Kiki Alarcon |
Backhand | Kiki Alarcon |

Orem, Utah’s “Team of Winners”, Backhand, are like the Tasmanian Devil, leaving mass destruction in their wake. They’re like the biker gang from Hell in Weird Science, who show up to crash your party and destroy your mom’s Three Dog Night record collection.

Take the title track from their debut EP, Kiki Alarcon, it starts out like a nice indie rock song and as soon as you start to get comfortable the brass knuckles are out and you’re picking your teeth up from off the floor. Most of the EP is this way – which is FANTASTIC – and I highly recommend the beat down.

Kiki Alarcon is out now on cassette and digitally via UPHERE! Records. If you live in the Salt Lake – Provo area you can swing by the 3hive Record Lounge and snag yourself a copy. I am looking forward to lots more from these guys. Enjoy.

Fox Face

Fox Face | End of Man |
Fox Face | End of Man |

Milwaukee 4-piece Fox Face punch you in the mouth and then kick you while you’re down with their blistering, heavy (à la early Sleater-Kinney) brand of punk rock on their newest album, End of Man.

Check out the title track below. Their label PR calls it the “best song Black Sabbath never wrote”. That description nails it!

End of Man is available now via Dirtnap Records. I highly recommend it.

Permanent Collection

Permanent Collection | Nothing Good Is Normal |
Permanent Collection | Nothing Good Is Normal |

“Nothing good is normal” is a great slogan to live life by. I have this slogan as one of the rotating desktops on my computer at work. It helps remind me to be myself and to try not to worry about what others think of me. Nothing Good Is Normal is also the title of Jason Hendardy’s new album (and first since 2012) under the moniker Permanent Collection.

Nothing Good Is Normal is 24 minutes of fuzzed-out, LOUD as hell punk rock tunes that will thrash your speakers and leave you begging for more. Check out my favorite track “Nothing Else” below. Nothing Good Is Normal is available now via Bandcamp. I highly recommend that you buy the album and strive to live your life by its title too. Enjoy.

Double Date With Death

Double Date With Death | L'Au-Delà |
Double Date With Death | L'Au-Delà |

Montreal’s Double Date With Death bring the fuzz in large doses on their new LP L’Au-Delà. Their heavy-chugging, lo-fi, garage punk sound is similar to bands like (Thee) Oh Sees and Ty Segall.

Check out “Forêt” and “Flourescent” (below) for a sampling of how good this album is.

L’Au-Delà is available now via Howlin’ Banana Records and DDWD’s Bandcamp page.

Kiwi Jr.

Kiwi Jr. | Football Money |
Kiwi Jr. | Football Money |

Kiwi Jr.’s debut LP Football Money is a nice trip down the 90’s indie rock memory lane, think Pavement meets Possum Dixon. Give the jangly “Salary Man” a spin for a taste. Football Money is packed with enough pop to keep you bouncing for days. I think it’s cured the sinus infection I’ve been battling for the past three weeks. Thanks, Kiwi Jr.

Football Money is out now and available via Persona Non Grata Records and Mint Records. Enjoy.


Necking | Cut Your Teeth |
Necking | Cut Your Teeth |

Vancouver four-piece, Necking, break necks and smash faces with their 9 chunky blasts of punk rock goodness (à la 90’s Sleater-Kinney) that make up their latest album Cut Your Teeth. Check out the ferocious “Big Mouth” and “Go Getter” below to get yourself hooked.

Cut Your Teeth is available now via Mint Records. This sucker shreds. I highly recommend it.

Todd’s Favorites of 2019

2019 was another great year for music, below are my top ten favorite albums 2019:

  1. Business of Dreams – Ripe For Anarchy [Slumberland]
  2. Select Level – S/T [Wax Thématique]
  3. Pinch Points – Moving Parts [Roolette/Six Tonnes De Chair]
  4. Oh Sees – Face Stabber [Castle Face]
  5. Modern Nature – How To Live [Bella Union]
  6. Cherry Glazerr – Stuffed & Ready [Secretly Canadian]
  7. Trampoline Team – S/T [Hozac]
  8. Cold Showers – Motionless [Dais]
  9. Czarface – The Odd Czar Against Us! [Silver Age]
  10. Altin Gün – Gece [ATO]

Also for your aural pleasure (and my own), I have attached a handy-dandy playlist of some my favorite songs from 2019…